2013 ALA Teen Book Award Winners Announced

Every January the American Library Association hosts its annual Youth Media Awards Press Conference. At this time, authors of children’s and young adult literature are recognized for the amazing works they have published in the last year. We as YA lit lovers consider this the Academy Awards of teen books. And this year’s winners are…

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults.

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens.

  • Award Winner: “Seraphina” by Rachel Hartman
  • Honor Book: “Wonder Show” by Hannah Barnaby
  • Honor Book: “Love and Other Perishable Items” by Laura Buzo
  • Honor Book: “After the Snow” by S. D. Crockett
  • Honor Book: “The Miseducation of Cameron Post” by Emily M. Danforth

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults.

Alex Award Winners are the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences.

Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adult.

  • Award Winner: “The Fault in Our Stars” written by John Green and narrated by Kate Rudd
  • Honor Book: “Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian” written by Eoin Colfer and narrated by Nathaniel Parker
  • Honor Book: “Ghost Knight” written by Cornelia Funke and narrated by Elliot Hill
  • Honor Book: “Monstrous Beauty” written by Elizabeth Fama and narrated by Katherine Kellgren

Pura Belpré (Author) Award honors a Latino writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Stonewall Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award is given annually to children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience.

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States.

  • Award Winner: “My Family for the War” by Anne C. Voorhoeve, translated by Tammi Reichel. Originally published in Germany in 2007 as “Liverpool Street.”
  • Honor Book: “A Game for Swallows: To Die, to Leave, to Return” written and illustrated by Zeina Abirached, translated by Edward Gauvin
  • Honor Book: “Son of a Gun” written and translated by Anne de Graaf

Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. Tamora Pierce is the 2013 Edwards Award winner. Pierce was born in rural Western Pennsylvania in 1954. She knew from a young age she liked stories and writing, and in 1983, she published her first series, Song of the Lioness. She continues to write and even record her own audiobooks. She currently lives with her husband (spouse-creature) and a myriad of animals in Syracuse, New York.

About Brandy

Gadget addict, amateur photographer, schnauzer lover, connoisseur of fine children's and young adult literature, and DBRLTeen blog coordinator.
This entry was posted in Book Buzz and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.